PRhyme – PRhyme

PRhyme - PRhyme
                                                                             PRhyme – PRhyme

Here is something for old-school fans out there. I just realized I missed the release of PRhyme a few days ago. PRhyme is the eponymous album by newly-formed hip hop duo PRhyme. PRhyme consists of DJ Premier, who was half of the legendary hip hop duo GangStarr alongside the late great Guru. The other half of PRhyme is Royce Da 5’9″, a veteran MC who is known for his longtime association with Eminem (They formed the hip hop duo Bad Meets Evil). Royce and Premo are longtime collaborators and I have been looking forward to this project for a while. Especially Royce have a special place in my heart, as he was one of the first hip hop artists that caught my interest with tracks like T.O.D.A.Y, Hip Hop and Boom. 

In anticipation for this album Royce and Premo are sharing a accompanying documentary which follows their personal and professional journey through the industry. The documentary is narrated by Bun B. Watch it here:

Even though Royce has a special place in my heart, it has been several years since he released something I really liked, but that is probably going to change now with PRhyme. I won’t be going into detail with the album since I just ‘discovered’ it today and thus haven’t heard it enough to justify me saying anything at this point. However, after the first two spins, the album sounds really promising and will probably dominate my playlist the coming week.

If you don’t know DJ Premier and Royce Da 5’9″ this seems like a great place to start, and from here on you can explore the deep and great discography of the pair.

Have an awesome weekend.

J

 

Leave a comment